Firefighters Just Watch

Title says it all.

A house caught on fire, firefighters showed up. They stood and watched as the family’s house turned into ashes, probably while the family stared dumbfounded.

Why you ask?

Because the family owed 75$.

Yes, that family is now homeless over $75. They were behind on their local firefighter fee.

I assume this means that if I stop paying local taxes the police won’t pull me over.

South Fulton Mayor David Crocker defended the fire department, saying that if firefighters responded to non-subscribers, no one would have an incentive to pay the fee. Residents in the city of South Fulton receive the service automatically, but it is not extended to those living in the greater county-wide area.

“There’s no way to go to every fire and keep up the manpower, the equipment, and just the funding for the fire department,” Crocker said.

Wow……..

I’m speechless.

Remember to grab your wallet when your house catches on fire, the local fire department will be running a check on people behind on their fees. If you don’t pay up you will lose your house and countless other possessions.

I need a drink….

Source.

Tagged , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Firefighters Just Watch

  1. Chee, Frank, I’m so glad I live in Australia, they havn’t yet succumbed to the soul destroying user-pays ethos that seems to permeate the USA.
    Best,
    DdeV

  2. Alaric Rays says:

    That is indeed horrible. I thought this was pretty bad too. Would make me froth at the mouth if I was a serviceman.
    http://rt.com/usa/news/military-dover-remains-landfill-395/

  3. El Guapo says:

    Sadly, I’ve seen news articles form allover the country about this becoming the standard…

Leave a Reply

