I….I Work Out

Actually I don’t anymore. I’m about to change that later this week. My new job has a gym bigger than most gyms I have seen, but I digress.

What I am actually getting at is guilty pleasures and quirky things in general. Do you have a song/movie/book that is a guilty pleasure. Something that you really like but at the same time might be a little embarrassing if somebody knew about. I have posted about this before, but it is something that interests me. Not so much what it is that people find as guilty pleasures, but why they feel they are guilty pleasures.

I’ll be the polar bear and break the ice.

I like this song and I think the video is hilarious, even though it makes my fiancé question a multitude of things about me.

 

**DANGER WILL ROBINSON**

Probably not safe for work, children, and dead pan senses of humor.

 

This probably seems odd to you, fair enough.

Imagine reading a book and a character references this music video or song. Say it is some quirk or guilty pleasure of theirs. I bet you will remember that character, I bet you will color them in a bit more with your imagination crayon. See how that works?

I try, success varies, to instil as much life into my characters as possible. That can mean having them hate cats, listen to weird music, say odd things at the end of sentences.

“I say man, you have a duck on your head, what what.”

“I do not!”

“You most certainly do. I can’t imagine why that would be, what what.”

This is something that Sir Terry Pratchett does very well. In fact this is a real example. Pretty nifty eh?

Anyway, my question to you. What are some of your own personal guilty pleasures and quirks and what are some of your characters. Compare them and maybe you will see something interesting.

 

 

Tagged , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “I….I Work Out

  1. WayWordBound says:

    I love this video even though there is definitely a bit more wiggle than I bargained for! Some of my guilty pleasures definitely come in the form of youtubers like Ryan Higa, KevJumba and Wong fu productions. I also take a lot of joy out of watching anime! nice post, thanks for sharing!

  2. Yep, that’s definitely a guilty pleasure…Although I probably shouldn’t talk- I do a GP every Friday on my site and have included the likes of Backstreet Boys, JLo, and Kelly Clarkson on mine. Stop by! http://www.foodandwinehedonist.com

  3. Nick says:

    I am going to say that this song gets a pass since it worked in a “The Last Dragon” Bruce Lee Roy got the Glow reference. Bravo.

  4. Nick says:

    Also was that Fez from That 70’s Show?

Leave a Reply

