New Beginnings

Friday was the last day at a job I have had for almost 5 years. It has been strange leaving a place where I saw co-workers more than my family and one life long friend that is family. Leaving him is definitely the worse part, oddly similar to hollowing a piece of your inside out and leaving it behind. Fortunately he is now my neighbor. Seriously his house is within a spitting distance of mine, so there is some silver lining.

I didn’t think I would get choked up, but when I saw some maternal figures get misty eyed, I almost went into the ugly cry. That is a lot for me to admit as I am not a crier. Not because I am macho or emotionless, just that I don’t really cry when I get sad, more thoughtful and quiet than anything.

Still, it was odd this morning waking up and getting dressed and not driving to the old workplace. It has become so ingrained into my thought process I rarely consciously thought about driving there. I had to remind myself a few times to drive the opposite direction, fighting my homing pigeon training with every turn of my wheel. I was sad and nervous, but a positive and warming text message of encouragement from my friend made things better. Perhaps it was the nervousness and wayward plunge into the unknown that let the text message have such a positive effect on me, maybe it is because at some point in the recent past I have become more mature and in touch with my inner me and realized that little gestures like that really do have an effect on me, I’m not really sure but it made me feel better.

I pulled into the parking lot and sat for a minute. I felt like something big was going on, something too large for me to even see. With me getting married in April, the new job, and the location, It hit me just a little while ago what has happened. The end of an era and the start of something new, something more than just me. A chance to fulfill the American dream. To have a house with a little white picket fence, the patter of little feet, and the means of providing a good life for my family. Weird how a major change in my life has effected so many other parts.

The job I have taken is a big career move, the company is the kind of place you stay for 30 or 40 years. That was made evident when HR told me that in the past year, they have only had to replace four workers, the rest have been from growth. While touring the building and meeting the staff I lost count of all the 20+ years of employment acknowledgements I saw. It was very reassuring that I have made the best decision.

After six months, I can return to school and finish another degree and they will pay for it. Not quite sure if I want to complete my electrical engineering degree or pursue something business or programming related. I’ll put a pin in that.

Today was a new beginning. Not quite as profound as realizing you are no longer a child but an adult, I’d still say that is bigger. This was right up there with it though.

The past three or so weeks have been some of the busiest weeks of my life. Looking at places to live, visiting them and inspecting them, researching them, finishing work projects (the big time killer), keeping things organized with bills, helping organize my wedding, bridal shower, not finding time to write and not letting it bother me, and the list goes on. The cluster of things to do has been whittled down, it is more manageable now.

I have given you all, my readers, the paraphrased version of what has gone on. Where and what I have been up to. I am back and be blogging regularly. So strap in for more randomness and general nerdy goodness.

Have a good night!

 

Tagged , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “New Beginnings

  1. R. H. Kanakia says:

    Good luck with the new job. I understand the melancholy feeling that leaving behind a job can entail. It happens even if you didn’t care for the job very much at all, and it sounds like you liked yours a fair amount.

    • Frank Bishop says:

      It was a good job, but it was time to move on.

      Great post on Frankenstein by the way. I read a comparison of Frankenstein to the minority culture of the United States from the founding and current time. It was a very interesting piece. If i get time I will email it to you, if you are at all interested.

  2. Alaric Rays says:

    I’m glad that things are going well for you. Changes are often difficult but it seems to me that you are definitely strong enough to cope and even grab the change by the balls and make it work for you. I suppose that you have already done that though. You made the change, now is just maintaining it. Don’t be afraid to be a little selfish, do all that it takes to get you to a point where you can be comfortable with the pitter patter of little feet. That is a great change as well, but also one worth taking.
    I know as well the ‘coming to terms’ with relationships. I have been evaluating a lot of them that are in my life and realizing that there are very few that are truly worth the effort put in. Luckily enough, there is that lifelong friend to pat you on the back and support you in times of vulnerability.(the proverbial you, not you you, you know?) Oft times I feel as though I could never compare to my best friend, because he is family. He is more brother than my own. So fair thee well with your life changes and may only good things come your way.
    PS Would be a great time to win a writing contest. If only I could make that happen for you. 😉

    • Frank Bishop says:

      I would have to get back into writing regularly, which for the next few weeks is still going to be a luxury.

      You should submit stuff to some contests, start crossing the bridge.

Leave a Reply

