My Favorite Video Games

I’m a gamer at heart. I enjoy a pixellated adventure just as much as the next nerd. So I thought I would share with you my favorite games as well as a trend I have noticed in gaming that is royally pissing me off.

My Favorite Games:

5. Ghostbusters (360)

4. Diablo 2 (PC)

3. Tribes (PC)

2. COD series (360)

1. Legend of Zelda series (Multiple platforms)

Speaking of COD, did you see the new MW3 multiplayer trailer? It looks awesome.

 

Several runner-ups like WoW, Resident Evil 2, Dead Space, Chronicles of Riddick, FFX, Portal, Bioshock, KOTOR, Red Faction 2, and on are nice and extremely enjoyable, but don’t cross that golden threshold of life changing awesomeness like the five on my list. Each game has been/is such a level of fun for me that they have impacted my life in some way. I have made several friends from COD or Tribes that I keep in touch with or the others have been used as a means of great nerd conversations. I cut WoW from the list because the last two expansions have really been lacking and haven’t felt epic. It seems Blizzard is inclined to toss easy victories at the general player base, which makes sense but still sucks.

In fact, that seems to be a going trend among video game developers; Make it more of an experience rather than a challenge. I might be revealing my age here – prepare to get off my lawn – but I remember video games being so damned difficult that the end boss fight took hours of failed attempts mixed with trial and error strategies that sometimes resulted in a controller spiraling towards a wall. Oh sure I can just turn up the difficulty setting but I want that puzzle challenge that seems to be disappearing. Turning up the difficulty just means less health, more damage, and enemies with more health. That is fine and dandy, but has less to do with skill and comes across as a cop-out to me.

Granted I know the intertrons has changed some of this. People being able to share and watch other player’s strategies has made finding solutions easier, but I don’t feel it has been enough to take away from an overall challenge. The last game I beat that I felt was somewhat difficult was probably conquering hell in Dante’s Inferno. Seriously that last fight with the devil was kind of annoying, but I enjoyed it. Before that I would say the most difficult game or rather boss fight was Ganon in Windwaker.

I want a game to be engaging, fun, challenging, and well executed.

So what about you? What are your favorite five video games? Do you think games have become easier?

 

 

Tagged , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “My Favorite Video Games

  1. Clint says:

    1. FFX
    2. Tribes.
    3. Shadow of the Colossus
    4. Dragon Age
    5. Gran Turismo 2

    Honorable Mentions:
    FFXII
    MGS4
    RE4

  2. Clint says:

    You have a 360 right? Well if you want hard get Dark Souls when it comes out. I played its predecessor Demon’s Souls (ps3 exclusive) and it was the most challenging game I’ve ever tried.

  3. Nick says:

    As a gamer, casual one at that, I got to post my list. More current than anything else.

    1. Fallout 3 / Fallout New Vegas (PC)
    2. Mass Effect 2 (360)
    3. Super Dodgeball (Nintendo)
    4. Civilization series (PC) (Militaristic Ghandi FTW)
    5. Batman Arkham Asylum (360)

  4. Alaric Rays says:

    Finally found that picture that relates to this.

    Had been searching using the wrong words. Turns out I had the picture all along… On my desktop. Oye!

Leave a Reply

