Anticipation is Killer

The anticipation of finding out if I have won any of the contests I entered is getting to me. I’m trying not to be a nervy writer, but I sent my babies out into the world to be weighed and measured, it is a little nerve-wracking. I should be finding out in the next two weeks or so if I have won anything, fingers crossed. If I don’t win I don’t think I’ll be crushed, but I will want to know what it was about my stories that were lacking. Insanity be down that road, yaarrgh!

The main competition I am nervous about is Writers of the Future. Winning this is a big deal, a very big deal. It doesn’t automatically gain you a book deal and instant fame, but it really helps in closing the gaps with finding an agent and publishers. It is a very noted competition in the Fantasy and Science Fiction world. Many popular writers have won and entered, Patrick Rothfuss just to name one.

The really cool thing about winning this is that it counts as publication, they publish your story in a volume of all the years winners, and you then qualify to go to a convention in New York that is held for ONLY published writers/agents/publishers. That means making contacts, seeing your writer heroes and all that fun business.

The other competitions can all be found here, for those who interested. I STRONGLY suggest you vet the competitions and people holding them before you submit anything. Lots of things can be scams cleverly disguised as various appealing enterprises, so be careful. I haven’t had problems yet, but is always better to err on the side of caution.

 

Well, back to writing. Gone word fishing, or maybe Xbox…… dunno.

Tagged , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Anticipation is Killer

  1. I wish you all the best. You are a good writer. You love what you do and the passion is there. But you’re right , anticipation is like watching a suspense movie that never ends. It’s like having butterflies in your stomach that never seems to go away. Would a trip to the beach help? it’s temporary but anything that will take your mind off from it seems like a good idea to relax a bit. Good luck!

  2. taureanw says:

    Good luck! No matter what happens the experience of writing & entering will make you a better writer. Of course it’s always nice to be recognized after working hard!

  3. Frank Bishop says:

    Thanks guys. I appreciate the vote of confidence. It is nerve wracking, but you are right, it is an experience all the same.

  4. Alaric Rays says:

    Careful you must be when sensing the future, Anakin. The fear of loss is a path to the dark side.

  5. dornefiction says:

    Good luck Frank. Any news yet?

Leave a Reply

