Taking the Leap

So how many of you want to be paid full-time writers? I know I do. The question I seem to ask myself is, when do I take that leap? When you have a full-time job and other responsibilities that keep you busy, you cannot dedicate the time needed for taking your writing to the next level. It is a slow process otherwise, writing part-time can take years before one can get established. So when do you take the leap? When life gets in the way of your writing, is that a sign it is time to jump? Or should one play it safe and gradually build up credentials to help become established?

I’ve heard both sides of the argument; take your time and build your reputation or go for it and take the risk of succeeding faster but with greater risk of failure. The number I’ve heard thrown around a lot is 3 in 10,000 manuscripts get published. That is a very depressing number. So is it an all-in game, put all of your chips on the table and just go for it, or the wait and see. Both have pros and cons and I’d assume it depends on the person, but I’m trying to figure out the right fit for me. I’ve written for a few years now and have honed my craft to a more marketable level. I still have weaknesses that need work on, but don’t we all. I am getting closer and closer to the point where I feel it is the time to jump. I have a notebook full of stories and ideas that need to be flushed out and written, but the stupid real world keeps getting in the way.

How about you guys? Where do you stand on the elusive dream of making a living writing?

Tagged , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Taking the Leap

  1. Very good question, Frank. If I wasn’t already married, I’d say that I would take the leap once I met a rich man … and darnit, I married for love rather than money (guess that shows me).

    I think for me that I would have to wait until publishing happens. I was always the kid in college who did better with less free time, so maybe the same rings true with my writing as well. It would be awesome to have the luxury to write every day, but would I be as good as it (assuming I’m good now) and would it still come to me as freely?

  2. taureanw says:

    I don’t hate my job and I don’t hate my spot in life @ this moment. Sure I would love to be able to do something different, have more money, etc. But for me I will probably take the slow & steady approach. I will continually evolve my writing, get a great piece of work out there, and hopefully find people who want to read what I write.

    I agree though, it sounds like it’s going to take awhile 🙂

  3. I know people who have jumped off the cliff at a run. I feel like I may be one of the more cautious type. I need to make sure that my shoot is folded properly and my helmet is on correctly. I like my job, so I will keep working there (as long as the economy lets me), and when my writing group thinks it is time, I will go for it. Slowly. While I keep my day job.

Leave a Reply

