Cardboard Warfare and Post Editing

Here is a sweet video with cardboard guns, blood, and some cgi shenanigans.

 

So I finished my novella today. Debating if I should just send it in to the next quarter of Writers of the Future or send it to Asimov or Analog. Getting a paycheck for my story would be nice, it would also help with some rather vicious school loans, although if my last entry doesn’t win then maybe this story will? Yes, that is a bit of a stretch and a dream but a playa has a right to dream. Which happens that I do and it involves beaches and being paid full-time to write.

 

So for the next week I will be meticulously and methodically breaking down my story into its components, checking the flow, voice, science, depth, and description to ensure maximum efficiency. Editing is probably my least favorite part of the entire writing process, but it is as important as writing. Taking away excess fat from your story, or killing your darling, can turn a paragraph of mediocre dialog into a one sentence solid gold bomb. With the exorbitant amount of research material I have purchased over the weekend this should actually move quickly. The goal is to have the story completely polished by next weekend. From there I will decide where to send it and then I will ultimately return to my novel, which should have been refined and polished months and months ago. Where does all the time go? Probably where are all the lonely people do.

In editing I get to see all the grammatical errors and awkward sentences I produce like a drunk rabbit in a whore house. I am aware my grammar is horrid, I think and have been told that it is my biggest weakness in terms of writing. I like to think that isn’t terrible because there is always revision, but who knows, maybe I just don’t get it.

 

Anyway, my question to you is, what is your biggest weakness that needs lots of tidying during revision?

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Cardboard Warfare and Post Editing

  1. Christine says:

    Man, oh man I wish I had the guts/chops to be a serious writer….anyhow, I do some writing and my big weakness is being all over the place. I could use some focus.

  2. Alaric Rays says:

    That was a pretty fun video. I had to go ahead and watch the other one 1.5. Dunno if there are more yet because I am lazy. Either way, awesome on finishing your novella. I would have to say my biggest problem with writing is pace. The second one is focus, especially when I’m trying to write something humorous, I jump in and out of anecdotes like a midget in a deep hole. Everytime you think you are out of one, boom there it is up in your ass again.
    Also, when describing the feel of boobs to a friend yesterday, I went with applesauce sandbags. Not the chunky kind obviously, well, ok it is if you have problems.

Leave a Reply

