The Deed is Done

I have done it. I have submitted my short story, ‘The Uncanny Blossom’, to Writers of the Future. In case you were wondering where I have been for the past week or what is up with the goofy posts, I have been slaving and obsessing over making my story perfect. I thought I would be cool about it, that I wouldn’t be one of those self-deprecating worrying writers that starts running extreme and obscene reactions as I imagine the judges reading my work, well I was wrong. I feel like I have sent my baby off to a far off strange land where she might not be accepted and loved for who she is. I have no idea if that is common, but that is how I feel. In reality I should be more confident and everything will be fine, if they don’t like it then I always have next quarter to try. Haters gonna hate, regardless, and it won’t deter me for reaching for my dream.

So the game plan now is to finish two projects, my science fiction novel and my science fiction novella. Instead of sitting around freaking out and being anxious, I’m going to go do something else. I feel some Call of Duty: Black Ops and some writing in my near future.

Hope everybody is having a good day.

Tagged , , , ,

4 thoughts on “The Deed is Done

  1. Alaric Rays says:

    Congratulations! Best of luck and may you win!

  2. I never thought of it that way, well put!

  3. That is awesome! Congrats, Frank! So, let’s see, we say “break a leg” for good luck in theater … would “break a nail” be appropriate for wishing writers luck?

Leave a Reply

