Books I’m excited about and Insanity

There are a few books that I look forward to with particular nerdom. The biggest, for me, this year being A Dance of Dragons. This is the next installment of George R.R. Martin’s A Song of Fire and Ice series. If you haven’t read this series, I strongly suggest you run out and get it. If you have been following the saga then you know this book contains all of our favorite characters. This is slated for release on July 12.

The next book that will give me a nerd-rection that can be seen from outer space is the next chapter in Jim Butcher’s Dresden Files, Ghost Story. After everything that happened in the last book, Changes, I cannot wait to get back into Harry’s world. I wonder what little curveballs Mr. Butcher has thrown us in this one. It comes out July 26 this year. Here is a synopsis of the book in Jim’s own words.

I loved Brandon Sanderon’s Mistborn trilogy and eagerly await the next book set in the same world, albeit a few hundred years later in a ‘steam punk’ type setting. The next book called The Alloy of Law is set to release November 8, 2011.

One of the things that I ponder about is insanity. I have looked for solid books capturing the decent into the mouth of madness and have found there to be a lacking. My scouring and relentless questioning of bookstores and personnel have turned up only one book so far, I Never Promised You a Rose Garden by Joanne Greenburg. Don’t get me wrong, I have found books about being crazy, but never about the process. I am intrigued in what happens to a person’s awareness as they slip into the depths of their own mania.

In two of my stories I have attempted to write about the foundation of a man’s sanity slowly cracking and fading away. It has proven to be extremely difficult and tedious, which is perhaps why I can find so little on the subject. One aspect of the subject I have discovered is that as one slides into insanity, they do not realize they are losing their marbles. To an outside observer it might be obvious, but to the person it could be irrationally rationalized.

Outsider: Why are you rubbing peanut butter on the remote?

Insane Person: To make it easier to find.

To the insane person, this is perfectly sensible and the person asking is an idiot. I vaguely think of it like a person with OCD explaining their rituals.

My question is, how did that person get there? Was it death of a thousand paper cuts, little by little every day they lost it or one day they woke up and decided it made sense to rub peanut butter on the remote? Giving a character a reason to crack is easy, explaining the process of how they dissolve their rationality and swim in lunacy is another.

Tagged , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Books I’m excited about and Insanity

  1. Alaric Rays says:

    All great books for sure. I am however disappointed with Butcher’s Ghost Story tour. He put up info on it and there is one date in his home town. Really hope that expands

  2. Clint says:

    I’m about half way through AFFC and can’t wait for ADoD. Gonna read The Black Company in the to pass the time.

    • Frank Bishop says:

      AFFC is my least favorite solely because it doesn’t have my favorite characters. It does have Arya which made it interesting at times, but overall i was blue balled. I am curios to see how ADoD turns out in terms of seeing resolutions coming to a head.

      I have been curious about The Black Company, you will have to let me know how it turns out.

Leave a Reply

